Upcoming Events

Tuesday, August 15th, 11:45 AM - SAYLA's Monthly Luncheon.  "A Better Practice with Bar Benefits" featuring Justice Rebecca Simmons, at Paesanos Lincoln Heights. Click HERE to register (preferred), or register at the door.

Thursday, August 17th, 5:30 PM - 7:30 PM - SAYLA Happy Hour at High Street Wine Co., 302 Pearl Pkwy #104, San Antonio, TX 78215.  Special thanks to our sponsor Hornberger Fuller & Garza!

Tuesday, September 19th, 11:45 AM - SAYLA's Monthly Luncheon.  "ADR Overview: Pros & Cons" featuring Justice Phylis Speedlin, at Paesanos Lincoln Heights.

Sunday, September 24th, Family Social Event at Son's Island:  food, drinks, and fun for the whole family. - check back for details.

Thursday, October 26th, Thirtieth Annual Courthouse Tour and Judicial Reception - check back for details.  

Thursday, November 9th, SAYLA/BCWBA San Antonio Swearing-in Ceremony for New Lawyers, Central Jury Room, Bexar County Courthouse - check back for details.


SAYLA on Social Media!

You're busy but you're also on Facebook, so stay connected by "Liking" the SAYLA Facebook page.

SAYLA Awards

Each year, SAYLA is proud to grant awards to individuals who have gone above and beyond in their service to the Bar and to the San Antonio Young Lawyers Association and its members in particular. 

The Honorary Young Lawyer Award is given to a member of the Bench at the Judicial Reception that follows the annual Courthouse Tour.  You can read more about the Courthouse Tour and Judicial Reception here.


Year Outstanding Young Lawyer Liberty Bell Outstanding Mentor Honorary Young Lawyer
2016 Lindsay Riley Shokare Nakpodia founder of DreamWeek San Antonio  Angela Moore Justice Marialyn Barnard
2015 Jessica Estorga Mohammad Abdollahi, advocacy director for the Refugee and Immigrant Center for Education and Legal Service Dinah Gaines Judge Cathy Stryker
2014 J. Patrick Rouse Maricruz Mosqueda, Paralegal, Equal Justice Center Lee Cusenbary Judge Sarah Garrahan
2013 James A. Rodriguez Donna Kay McKinney, Bexar County District Clerk Charles "Chip" Henry Rich, III (posthumously) Judge Polly Jackson Spencer
2012 Murray Van Eman Craig Kapitan, San Antonio Express-News Robin Teague Judge Raymond Angelini
2011 Monica Lerma Amanda Buckhert, Community Justice Program   Judge Jason Pulliam
2010 David M. Evans Maricela Lazarin, Fox Tech High School   Judge Xavier Rodriguez
2009 Laura Mason Margaret Montemayor, Bexar County District Clerk   Judge Larry Noll
2008 Emma Cano Jimmy Allison, SABA   Justice Sandee Bryan Marion
2007 Beth Watkins Squires Dr. Richard Gambitta, UTSA   Justice Rebecca Simmons
2006 Kristal M. Cordova Sister Grace Walle, Campus Ministry, St. Mary's   Judge Rene Diaz
2005 Ramon Molina Carolyn Thurmond, ED, SABF   Judge Michael Mery
2004 Dan Hargrove Jane Fritz, ED, CJP   Judge Royal Ferguson
2003 Sean McNelis Marlene Labenz-Hough, Director, BCDRC   Judge David Peeples
2002 Angela Sanchez Elsa Marie Garza, Paralegal, Fulbright & Jaworski   Justice Catherine Stone
2001 Abel Martinez Kimberly Carver, Northeast YMCA   Justice Paul Green
2000 Bobby Perez David Brem, Probate Court Admin. Assis.   Judge Andy Mireles
1999 Mary Doggett Catherine Bridge, Fox Tech    
1998 Abigail Kampmann      
1997 Wallace Jefferson      
1996 Suzanne S. Bailey Sylvia Hernandez    
1995 Martin I. Roos Ann Smith    
1994 Lowell A. Keig Mary C. Garza    
1993 Thomas R. Giltner April Schwartz    
1992 Elizabeth C. Rogers Bonnie J. Street    
1991 Mark G. Sessions Liz Davey    
1990 William T. Dooling Dela White    
1989 Peter M. Koelling Harriet C. Marmon    
1988 Frank B. Burney Raul "Jose" Jiminez    
1987 Gilbert F. Vasquez Donald L. Anderson    
1986 Cyndi Taylor Krier Lila Cockrell    
1985 Taylor Boone      
1984 Hull D. Youngblood, Jr.      
1983 Sharyll Teneyuca      
1982 Richard C. Danysh      
1981 Edward C. Prado      
1980 Fred Biery      
1979 Evelyn Biery      
1978 Jane H. Macon      
1977 Patrick J. Pape      
1976 John Compere      
powered by MemberClicks